The Support Association Inclusion School Irbid – FII e.V.

promotes the Arab Episcopal School (AES) in Irbid, Jordan.

Since its foundation, the school has been pursuing the goal of meeting the needs of blind and visually impaired children and young people with contemporary approaches, and to give them a better and more hopeful future. Previously, there was no pedagogical offer for them in Irbid and its surroundings.

The AES works according to peace education principles and with triple inclusion:
The joint education of

  • Christians and Muslims
  • boys and girls
  • Blind and sighted children

Our spring newsletter 2022

March 2022

Outside it is greening and blooming and there is some news to report from the Arab Episcopal School in Irbid. Our spring newsletter tells about the “International Day of the White Cane”, the new solar system on the school roof, our support especially for girls and much more.

Click here to read the newsletter in German.

The english version of our newsletter will be published shortly.

Our special edition newsletter for Christmas 2021

December 2021

We wish you all a blessed and reflective Christmas. Come well into the new year!

Despite Corona, there is great news from the AES. A dream came true: in November, after 3 months of construction, the new classrooms for the Upper School could be inaugurated. Under difficult conditions due to increased raw material prices and the ongoing Corona pandemic, this borders on a miracle.

Click here for the special edition of the newsletter in German.

Click here for the special edition of the newsletter in English.

Obituary for Dr. Winfried Dalferth

September 2021

On 17 September, after a short, serious illness, the first Chairman of our Support Association passed away. His death has moved many people in very different places, it just doesn’t fit this energetic, cheerful and warm-hearted person, who with his many gifts and interests, his humour and his accuracy got things started and initiated things in so many places in our regional church and also in our association.

Above all, however, we as an association and as a school mourn with his wife and his family, who have lost much more than we can measure.
For us as FII e.V., Dr. Winfried Dalferth was of existential importance! Without him, the association would probably not have come into being for a long time; with his expertise and his love of detail, he was not only our “first” chairman, but also the head and heart of the FII. It is not least thanks to his commitment that the support of the AES can now happen sustainably and in a reliable form, that the many people who care about this school have a common platform and a centre where help is coordinated and bundled.

“I will bless you and you shall be a blessing.” (Genesis 12:2) – with this word that God once promised to Abraham, we remembered and commemorated his great commitment at our first general meeting “without him” in October 2021.
Winfried Dalferth lived (as I felt) out of a great gratitude – and drew from this gratitude the energy with which he actually became a blessing for our school in Irbid. Without putting himself in the foreground, he set the course for our association with great precision and foresight so that we could fulfil our self-chosen task sustainably and well.

We can and will preserve his memory in such a way that we continue our association in his spirit and help the Inclusion School to develop further – so that it can become a blessing for many more visually impaired, blind and sighted girls and boys, Christians and Muslims.

For the association and the board of the FII

Thomas Cornelius

 

Our summer newsletter 2021

July 2021

Summer is here – and so is our Summer Newsletter 2021.

Click here for the newsletter in German language.

Click here for the newsletter in English.

Our spring newsletter 2021

March 2021

Our spring newsletter has been sent to our association members and all those who support AES through donations.

Click here for the newsletter in German language.

Click here for the newsletter in English.

New school term begins at AES

Samir, the founder of the school, tells us about the daily school life in March 2021

On February 08, 2021, the second school semester began. Everyone was happy that the time of home schooling was over and we could go back to school. In three stages the students were to arrive. By 07 March, all would have been there completely. But it was not possible. Two weeks after the first group of students, the newly arriving students doubled the number of Corona infected. So the return of the students to the school had to be stopped.

Now the school is again trying to provide distance education. However, distance education for the blind and visually impaired is especially difficult because the technical requirements are often lacking. The blind teachers therefore try to provide support to the students wherever possible and to make the lessons easier for them.

After the number of people affected by the epidemic increased from 700 to about 5,000 every day and the number of daily working hours in the stores was reduced, it was decided at the end of February to close the school completely every Friday after five weeks of opening.

Regarding the economic situation in Jordan, which is deteriorating daily due to the closure of many businesses, statistics in Jordan show that 24 percent of Jordanians have become unemployed. 400,000 people have lost their jobs due to the epidemic. These are not the ones whose working hours have been reduced by 50 percent.

In schools, there have been significant shifts in school fees, as only a small number of parents continue to pay school fees despite school closures. This will not change in the school year ahead.

Unfortunately, since only a few vaccines have arrived in Jordan so far, only a small number of people could be vaccinated.

In Jordan, hundreds of thousands of people are still waiting for their vaccination. Also, for example, my father and mother, both over 82 years old. The vaccine was given to my mother, but my father is still waiting for his turn. Priority was given to doctors and nurses in Jordan.

We pray to the Lord to help us in this disaster that has hit the world, as in the whole world we have lost many people in Jordan due to this epidemic. The number of people affected by the epidemic in Jordan is about 450,000 and the deaths are almost 5,000.

Reverend Samir Esaid
School founder

Ein Teams des jordanischen Gesundheitsministeriums testete die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der AES auf Corona.
In den ersten Tagen des zweiten Schulhalbjahres kam das epidemiologische Untersuchungsteam des jordanischen Gesundheitsministeriums in der AES vorbei und testete alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf Corona.
Die Kinder an der Arab Episcopal School werden von einem Team der Caritas Jordan Association auf das Coronavirus getestet.
Ein medizinisches Team der Caritas Jordan Association testet die Schülerinnen und Schüler der Arab Episcopal School zu Beginn des zweiten Schulhalbjahres auf das Coronavirus.

The AES in Lydia’s world

February 2021

Lydia writes about what it’s like to be blind. In 2019, her blog was nominated for the Grimme Online Award. We are very happy that an article about the AES appeared there.

And more than that, Lydia has set up a money pool through PayPal. All who wish can donate in the equivalent of a coffee for the AES until March 31, 2021.

More links:

Click here to go to the blog post.

Click here to go to the Money Pool.

The blogger Lydia Zoubek

Coronavirus (COVID-19) and the AES

Samir writes to the FII office on 20/03/2020:

We are fasting and praying a lot for the situation, with the hope of a change soon. Therefore, we do not want to grumble and take it out of his hands.

In our country the situation is not much different from that in Germany, with the exception that in Germany there is probably even more food in the supermarkets. Stores that are not existentially necessary should actually be closed, although not everyone complies. The same situation prevails in public transport. For this reason, as of today, even stricter controls have been introduced. Whether penalties have also been imposed is still unknown to me. The borders of the city districts have also been closed. So for now, we can’t get out of Irbid. Also airplanes usually can’t get in or out without a special permit.

The school is not in session at the moment because of the ban on meetings. It was set for 2 weeks for now, but the corona cases are increasing in Jordan, despite the precautions. Perhaps this period will be extended. During this time, the students will receive instruction via the Internet and/or television.

Marie Ann and also the other two volunteers have already made intensive contact with the Foreign Office some time ago. Due to the border closures, the three were picked up yesterday by a car of the German embassy and brought to Amman to an apartment that they have to pay for out of their own pockets. There they will stay until hopefully soon a plane will bring them to Germany. Unfortunately, we do not know how long this will take. Again, we can only pray that it will be soon!

I really hope that the situation will calm down a bit soon, but of course we take it out of God’s hands.
I pray for your health! All love and God’s blessings,

Reverend Samir Esaid
School Administrator

AES was awarded a prize by the Zero Project for its innovative work with the blind

February 2020, Vienna

The Zero Project, an initiative of the Essl Foundation, focuses on the rights of people with disabilities worldwide. It provides a platform for sharing the most innovative and effective solutions to problems of people with disabilities. The Zero Project builds on a growing network of over 4,000 organisations and disability experts with and without disabilities in over 160 countries. Through its conference, report and awards, the Zero Project disseminates and promotes reproducible and innovative solutions that overcome the problems of people with disabilities by raising public awareness and encouraging reform, acting as a catalyst for a world without barriers. …

During the course of the programme, the selected initiatives will receive training, mentoring, tailor-made support, networking and visibility in cooperation with local replication partners to further replicate their innovation and impact in other regions. The goal is to prepare these initiatives for replication, connect them with relevant replication partners, and further support replication through our alumni community.

Here you can download further information on the Zero project as a PDF flyer:

Der Förderverein Inklusionsschule Irbid – FII e.V.

fördert die Arab Episcopal School (AES) in Irbid, Jordanien

Seit der Gründung verfolgt die Schule das Ziel, mit zeitgemäßen Ansätzen den Bedürfnissen von blinden und sehbehinderten Kindern und Jugendlichen Rechnung zu tragen und ihnen eine bessere und hoffnungsvollere Zukunft zu ermöglichen. Für sie gab es zuvor in Irbid und Umgebung kein pädagogisches Angebot.

Die AES arbeitet nach friedenspädagogischen Grundsätzen und mit dreifacher Inklusion:
Gemeinsame Erziehung von

  • Christen und Muslimen
  • Jungen und Mädchen
  • Blinden und Sehenden Kindern

Unser Frühjahrs-Newsletter 2022

März 2022

Draußen grünt und blüht es und aus der Arab Episcopal School in Irbid gibt es einiges Neues zu berichten. Unser Frühjahrs-Newsletter erzählt vom „Internationalen Tag des weißen Stocks“, der neuen Solaranlage auf dem Schuldach, unserer Unterstützung speziell für Mädchen und vielem mehr.

Hier geht es zum Newsletter in deutscher Sprache.

 

Unsere Sonderausgabe des Newsletters zum Weihnachtsfest 2021

Dezember 2021

[/ux_text]

Wir wünschen Ihnen allen ein gesegnetes und besinnliches Weihnachtsfest. Kommen Sie gut ins neue Jahr!

Trotz Corona gibt es tolle Neuigkeiten aus der AES. Ein Traum wurde wahr: im November konnten nach 3-monatiger Bauzeit die neuen Klassenräume für die Oberstufe eingeweiht werden. Unter erschwerten Bedingungen aufgrund gestiegener Rohstoffpreise und der anhaltenden Corona-Pandemie grenzt das an ein Wunder.

Hier geht es zur Sonderausgabe des Newsletters in Deutsch.

Hier geht es zur Sonderausgabe des Newsletters in Englisch.

Nachruf für Dr. Winfried Dalferth

September 2021

Am 17. September verstarb nach kurzer, schwerer Krankheit der 1. Vorsitzende unseres Fördervereins. Sein Tod hat viele Menschen an ganz verschiedenen Orten sehr bewegt, es passt einfach nicht zu diesem energiegeladenen, fröhlichen und warmherzigen Menschen, der mit seinen vielen Gaben und Interessen, seinem Humor und seiner Genauigkeit an so vielen Stellen in unserer Landeskirche und eben auch unserem Verein Dinge auf den Weg gebracht und angestoßen hat.

Vor allem aber trauern wir als Verein und als Schule mit seiner Frau und seiner Familie, die noch viel mehr verloren haben, als wir ermessen können.
Für uns als FII e.V. war Dr. Winfried Dalferth von existentieller Bedeutung! Der Verein wäre ohne ihn wahrscheinlich noch lange nicht entstanden; mit seinem Sachverstand und seiner Liebe auch zum Detail war er nicht nur unser „erster“ Vorsitzender, sondern auch Kopf und Herz des FII. Nicht zuletzt seinem Einsatz ist es zu verdanken, dass die Unterstützung der AES nun nachhaltig und in verlässlicher Form geschehen kann, dass die vielen Menschen, denen diese Schule am Herzen liegt, eine gemeinsame Plattform und ein Zentrum haben, in dem die Hilfe koordiniert und gebündelt wird.

„Ich will dich segnen und du sollst ein Segen sein.“ (1.Mose 12,2) – mit diesem Wort, das Gott einst dem Abraham zugesprochen hatte, haben wir im Oktober 2021 bei unserer ersten Mitgliederversammlung „ohne ihn“ an sein großes Engagement gedacht und uns an ihn erinnert.
Winfried Dalferth hat (so habe ich es empfunden) aus einer großen Dankbarkeit heraus gelebt – und hat aus dieser Dankbarkeit die Energie gezogen, mit der er für unsere Schule in Irbid tatsächlich zum Segen wurde. Ohne sich selbst in den Vordergrund zu stellen, hat er mit großer Genauigkeit und Weitsicht die Weichen für unseren Verein so gestellt, dass wir nachhaltig und gut unsere selbstgewählte Aufgabe erfüllen können.

Wir können und werden sein Andenken so bewahren, dass wir unseren Verein in seinem Sinn weiterführen und der Inklusionsschule helfen, sich weiterzuentwickeln – damit sie noch vielen sehbehinderten, blinden und sehenden Mädchen und Jungen, Christen und Muslimen zum Segen werden kann.

Für den Verein und den Vorstand des FII

Thomas Cornelius

Unser Sommer-Newsletter 2021

Juli 2021

Und schon ist der Sommer da – und damit auch unser aktueller Newsletter.

Hier geht es zum Newsletter in deutscher Sprache. 

Hier geht es zum Newsletter in englischer Sprache.

Unser Frühjahrs-Newsletter 2021

März 2021

Unser Frühjahrs-Newsletter wurde an unsere Vereinsmitglieder und all jene, die die AES durch Spenden unterstützen, versendet.

Hier geht es zum Newsletter in deutscher Sprache. 

Hier geht es zum Newsletter in englischer Sprache.

Neues Schulhalbjahr beginnt an der AES

Samir, der Gründer der Schule, berichtet uns aus dem Schulalltag im März 2021

Am 08. Februar 2021 begann das zweite Schulhalbjahr. Alle waren froh, dass die Zeit des Home Schooling vorbei war und wir wieder zur Schule gehen konnten. In drei Stufen sollten die Schülerinnen und Schüler ankommen. Bis zum 07. März wären alle vollständig dagewesen. Aber es war nicht möglich. Zwei Wochen nach der ersten Schülergruppe wurde durch die neu kommenden Schüler die Anzahl der Corona-Infizierten verdoppelt. So mußte die Rückkehr der Schüler an die Schule gestoppt warden.

Nun ist die Schule wieder bemüht, Fernunterricht zu erteilen. Dabei ist insbesondere der Fernunterricht für Blinde und Sehbehinderte schwierig, weil die technischen Voraussetzungen dafür oft fehlen. Die blinden Lehrer versuchen deshalb, den Schülerinnen und Schülern wo nur möglich Unterstützung zukommen zu lassen und ihnen den Unterricht zu erleichtern.

Nachdem die Zahl der von der Epidemie betroffenen Menschen täglich von 700 auf etwa 5.000 gestiegen ist und die Anzahl der täglichen Arbeitsstunden in den Geschäften verringert wurde, wurde Ende Februar beschlossen, nach fünfwöchiger Öffnung der Schule jeden Freitag vollständig zu schließen.

In Bezug auf die wirtschaftliche Situation in Jordanien, die sich aufgrund der Schließung vieler Unternehmen täglich verschlechtert, zeigen Statistiken in Jordanien, dass 24 Prozent der Jordanier arbeitslos geworden. 400.000 Menschen haben aufgrund der Epidemie ihre Arbeitsplätze verloren. Das sind nicht diejenigen, deren Arbeitszeit um 50 Prozent reduziert wurde.

In der Schule gab es erhebliche Verschiebungen bei den Schulgebühren, da nur eine kleine Zahl der Eltern trotz Schulschließungen die Schulgebühren weiter bezahlt. Dies wird sich im vor uns liegenden Schuljahr nicht ändern.

Da in Jordanien bisher nur wenige Impfstoffe angekommen sind, konnte leider nur eine kleine Anzahl von Menschen geimpft werden.

In Jordanien warten immer noch Hunderttausende Menschen auf ihre Impfung. Auch zum Beispiel mein Vater und meine Mutter, beide über 82 Jahre alt. Der Impfstoff wurde meiner Mutter gegeben, aber mein Vater wartet immer noch darauf, dass er an die Reihe kommt. Priorität hatten in Jordanien Ärzte und Krankenschwestern.

Wir beten zum Herrn, uns in dieser Katastrophe, die die Welt getroffen hat zu helfen, da wir wie in der ganzen Welt viele Menschen in Jordanien durch diese Epidemie verloren haben. Die Zahl der von der Epidemie in Jordanien betroffenen Menschen beträgt ungefähr 450.000 und die Todesfälle sind fast 5.000.

Pfarrer Samir Esaid
Schulgründer

Ein Teams des jordanischen Gesundheitsministeriums testete die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der AES auf Corona.
In den ersten Tagen des zweiten Schulhalbjahres kam das epidemiologische Untersuchungsteam des jordanischen Gesundheitsministeriums in der AES vorbei und testete alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf Corona.
Die Kinder an der Arab Episcopal School werden von einem Team der Caritas Jordan Association auf das Coronavirus getestet.
Ein medizinisches Team der Caritas Jordan Association testet die Schülerinnen und Schüler der Arab Episcopal School zu Beginn des zweiten Schulhalbjahres auf das Coronavirus.

DIE AES IN LYDIAS WELT

Februar 2021

Lydia schreibt darüber, wie es ist, blind zu sein. 2019 wurde ihr Blog für den Grimme Online Award nominiert. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass dort ein Beitrag über die AES erschienen ist.

Und mehr noch: Lydia hat über PayPal einen Money Pool eingerichtet. Alle, die möchten, können im Gegenwert eines Kaffees für die AES bis zum 31. März 2021 spenden.

Weitere Links:

Hier geht es zum Blog-Beitrag.

Hier geht es zum Money Pool.

Die Bloggerin Lydia Zoubek sitzt auf einem roten Sofa während sie strickt.
Die Bloggerin Lydia Zoubek

Coronavirus und die AES

Samir, der Gründer der Schule, schreibt am 20.03.2020 an die FII-Geschäftsstelle:

Wir fasten und beten viel für die Situation, mit der Hoffnung auf eine baldige Veränderung. Wir wollen daher nicht murren und es aus seiner Hand nehmen.

Bei uns unterscheidet sich der Zustand nicht groß von dem in Deutschland, mit der Ausnahme, dass es in Deutschland vermutlich noch mehr Lebensmittel in den Supermärkten gibt. Nicht existentiell notwendige Geschäfte sollen eigentlich geschlossen werden, wobei sich nicht jeder daran hält. Dieselbe Situation herrscht im öffentlichen Nahverkehr. Aus diesem Grund, wurden ab heute noch strengere Kontrollen eingeführt. Ob auch schon Strafen verhängt wurden, ist mir noch unbekannt. Die Grenzen der Stadtbezirke sind auch geschlossen worden. Wir kommen also erstmal nicht aus Irbid raus. Auch Flugzeuge kommen in der Regel ohne eine spezielle Genehmigung nicht rein oder raus.

Die Schule findet zurzeit auch nicht statt, wegen des Versammlungsverbots. Festgelegt wurde es erstmal auf 2 Wochen, aber die Coronafälle nehmen in Jordanien, trotz der Vorkehrungen, zu. Vielleicht wird diese Frist demnach verlängert. Die Schüler bekommen in dieser Zeit Unterricht übers Internet und/oder Fernsehen.

Marie Ann und auch die anderen beiden Volontärinnen haben schon vor einiger Zeit intensiven Kontakt zum Auswärtigen Amt aufgenommen. Aufgrund der Grenzschließungen wurden die Drei gestern von einem Auto der deutschen Botschaft abgeholt und nach Amman in ein Apartment gebracht, dass sie erstmal aus eigener Tasche zahlen müssen. Dort bleiben sie, bis sie hoffentlich bald ein Flugzeug nach Deutschland bringt. Wie lange das dauern wird, wissen wir jedoch leider nicht. Auch hier können wir nur dafür beten, dass es bald sein wird!

Ich hoffe sehr, dass sich die Lage bald etwas beruhigt hat, aber natürlich nehmen wir es aus Gottes Hand.
Ich bete für eure Gesundheit! Alles Liebe und Gottes Segen,

Pfarrer Samir Esaid
Schulgründer

Die AES wurde vom ZERO-Projekt mit einem Preis für ihre innovative Blindenarbeit ausgezeichnet

Februar 2020, Wien

Das Zero Project, eine Initiative der Essl Foundation, konzentriert sich auf die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderungen weltweit. Es bietet eine Plattform, auf der die innovativsten und effektivsten Lösungen für Probleme von Menschen mit Behinderungen ausgetauscht werden. Das Zero-Projekt baut auf einem wachsenden Netzwerk von über 4.000 Organisationen und Behinderungsexperten mit und ohne Behinderung in über 160 Ländern auf. Mit seiner Konferenz, seinem Bericht und seinen Auszeichnungen verbreitet und fördert das Zero-Projekt reproduzierbare und innovative Lösungen, die die Probleme von Menschen mit Behinderungen überwinden, indem es die Öffentlichkeit für die Probleme sensibilisiert und Reformen anregt und so als Katalysator für eine Welt ohne Hindernisse fungiert. …

Im Verlauf des Programms erhalten die ausgewählten Initiativen in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen ReplikationspartnernSchulungen, Mentoring, maßgeschneiderte Unterstützung, Vernetzung und Sichtbarkeit , um ihre Innovation und Wirkung in anderen Regionen weiter zu reproduzieren. Ziel ist es, diese Initiativen für die Replikation vorzubereiten, sie mit relevanten Replikationspartnern zu verbinden und die Replikation durch unsere Alumni-Community weiter zu unterstützen.

Hier können Sie sich weitere Informationen zum Zero-Projekt als PDF-Flyer herunterladen: